Food and Wine 2015, 20 years of delicious Part 2

After life took over for about a week, I am back with second half of my Food and Wine 2015 experience. I went the second weekend October 2 and as I mentioned last time I went in with a plan.

I was traveling with my boyfriend and mom, and we had agreed was as a group that France was the tastiest. In this post I’ll finish up my food experiences and most of all my love of Mmmhops and craft beer.

From France we jumped over to Brazil, Brazil has to arguably be the most popular stand in the whole park. Every year I have gone the line is usually the longest at the event, probably only second to the Dominican Republic. Though the long line is with reason, I had skipped over it last year due to lack of money but this year I went in with 2 picks. The only thing I didn’t try was the frozen caipirinha, the national drink of Brazil and probably the most popular item sold there.

IMG_6577

Pão de queijo: Brazilian Cheese Bread & Crispy Pork Belly with Black Beans and Tomatoes.

The Pão de queijo or Cheese Bread has to the most popular food item, I always see people knocking these back and with reason. It’s warm and crispy on the outside, but inside you’ll find gooey cheese and the cheese is deliciously salty. I couldn’t begin to assume what kind of cheese it was but it was so good, and it is one of the few items I was able to split with my boyfriend since it brought two pieces.

As for the Crispy Pork Belly, it was melt in your mouth but still had that nice charred edge so it lived up to its name. The other thing that should be noted about the pork belly is that normally these are fatty pieces, which is from the pig’s belly (if you couldn’t guess) and is the same region we get bacon from. The fat on this was so soft and broke down so nicely it was wonderful, I could have eaten the whole chunk by myself. Though I will say the best part of this dish was the beans with the chunks of tomatoes, they were almost close to a puree and so well seasoned, I would have eaten just a plate with beans.

After such a wonderful dish, and my wanting a plate of beans it was time to for dessert. By the time I finished the pork belly, I was pretty stuffed and ready for some sweets I was also planning to leave room for beer which I was pining for.

Unlike last year where I drank a bit more as opposed to eating, this year I set out for food and food only. So we left my mom on a bench between France and Morocco and headed back to the UK to Ireland.

Warm chocolate pudding with Kerrygold Irish Cream Liqueur Custard

Warm chocolate pudding with Kerrygold Irish Cream Liqueur Custard

I actually had tasted this last year, my friend got it and I was hooked. Now it’s listed as a pudding, but it’s actually closer to a brownie because the inside is gooey like a warm fresh brownie, but it also may remind others of like a molten chocolate cake with a firmer center.

The highlight of this dish for me, the Kerrygold Irish Cream Liqueur Custard, first off I LOVE Kerrygold butter it’s creamier than traditional U.S. butter. Second it just works with this heavy little piece of chocolate because it balances out the chocolate, if you’ve had an Irish Cream shake with chocolate syrup this is the non-alcoholic cousin who is a solid. I can’t describe the liqueur custard without calling it a warm hug from your grandma? Or perhaps like a nice warm blanket on a cool night? Either way it is amazing, it’s the perfect compliment to the “pudding”

My boyfriend’s choice of dessert was the Apple Strudel from Germany, I will preface by saying this if you’ve eaten in Germany’s buffet restaurant you can skip this one.

Apple strudel with vanilla sauce.

Apple strudel with vanilla sauce.

I am not big on this dessert whether it is served part of Food and Wine or in the restaurant. I have kind of an issue with the pastry shells, since they usually get goopy after sitting around for too long. Though the apple filling and warm vanilla custard are amazing, the pastry shell ruins it for me. I ate at Germany the night after this, and I was just not impressed in there either. Again I think this is one of those desserts that truly needs to be served fresh and not be left sitting there.

We continued through the world showcase after this trying to walk off the food and walking in through the themed gift shops.

Light up cherry blossoms available in Japan for purchase.

Light up cherry blossoms available in Japan for purchase.

We stopped in the American Adventure for 2 reasons, my mom wanted a Lobster roll and I wanted Hanson Brothers Mmmhops Pale Ale. I for some odd reason did not take a photo of the lobster roll, but I will say it was very good and the bits of lobster were crunchy but well seasoned, it was also not drowning in sauce which is an issue I have encountered before.

So let me say I tried Mmmhops last year, I still love it as much as I did then. I also jammed out to Hanson when I was a child in the 90s, they were the lead up to my obsession with NSync.

Hanson is also scheduled to perform at Eat to Beat at this year’s Food and Wine on the November 10 & 12, it is also one of the last performances of the festival.

Back to Mmmhops though, I love beer especially good craft beer. I came back this year with the intent to try the beer flight at the craft beer center in the Odyssey as mentioned previously.

Hanson Brothers Mmmhops Pale Ale

Hanson Brothers Mmmhops Pale Ale

Despite the darkness in the photo, it does pour out in an Amber tone. The beer is medium bodied so if you aren’t into dark beers try this one, it also has some nice fruity undertones to it which give a balance to the hops. Like I said this is one of my favorite beers in the world and I normally prefer strong dark beers. It is available at Total Wine if you can’t make it out for Food and Wine, and you have to try it.

Craft Beer Flight 2 with snack mix cones in the back.

Craft Beer Flight 2 with snack mix cones in the back.

We ended up running into the Craft Beer area, after it began down pouring and we got soaked. This was our last stop either way, because I had come here with one mission only. Funky Buddha was doing a Vanilla Espresso Porter for the event, Funky Buddha is my local brewery in Broward County, FL.

When I first tried Funky Buddha, I hated it. I continued to try and stomach the Floridian and Hop Gun, both of which Yelp raves about but I never could drink it. Even my editor at the paper I work at kept telling me to try others because I was being unfair, so I did. Long story short I am converted and I love the stuff.

Their Vanilla Espresso Porter is a strikingly dark beer with heavy coffee notes and a smooth vanilla finish, it has to be one of my favorites they have done.

All the beers at Craft Beer are also Florida brews, and flight 2 is all the darker beers with the exception of the one Amber which is the 3 Daughters from St. Petersburg. This beer is also exceptionally good in the sense that it had a nice fruity and floral scent to it and just reminded me of a summer day in Florida. The Shipyard Barrel Ale in this flight is nice and oaky and should be sipped, if you’ve ever had the Kentucky Bourbon Barrel Ale this is it’s cousin. Finally in this flight Florida Beer Company Passport 20 Belgium-Style Triple Ale, another semi light one like the 3 Daughters.

Germany Booth

Germany Booth

While I didn’t try EVERY booth, I think the ones I did try were great and absolutely delicious. I plan to return next year, since I am not able to get anymore Vacation Club rooms till 2016. But I do suggest getting a gift card in order to not have to fumble with your credit card at every stand, and as I mentioned come into this with a plan.

I mentioned in the first post that one of the plates was Disney Dining Plan snack eligible, all of the items are considered a snack on the Dining Plan. So get out there and eat your way around the world, I also want to thank my boyfriend who was awesome and held ALL the plates for me while I photographed them.

You can see more of my Disney photos on my Deviant Art, the link is in my about page and you can also follow me on Instagram @DancinginMadrid.

Leave a Reply

