How ‘Star Wars’ Became Stylish

18 years ago my mother, a proud trekkie and Lord of the Rings fan took me to experience Star Wars for the first time. While I was only 7, Princess Leia and her iconic hair would stick with me for a long time.

In 2001 Star Wars: Episode 1 changed how I viewed myself, I was 11 and I knew that October I had to be Padme. Everything about her red throne room dress and make up would stay with me, just like Leia’s iconic look did a few years before.

IMG_2573

Padme’s Throne Room Dress, Episode 1, 2001. On display at “Star Wars and the Power of Costume” EMP Seattle, 2015.

Since then I have come into being a Geek, with a lot of judgement and shirts that are too big even for dudes. Thankfully 2015 saw the rise of Star Wars again, and a change in how women are seen in ‘Geekdom’ and how they dress.

30 years, it took 30 years to acknowledge women and girls in the Star Wars and that we are more than frumpy and unstylish but in reality bring our own look. A lot has changed in those 30 years and thanks to companies like HerUniverse and even Disney, women are being seen as more than sexy for the male gaze but for their choice in fashion and attire.

From Cover Girl to even Diane Von Furstenberg, fashion and the Star Wars galaxy have collided in what I would consider a cosmic event. The acknowledgement of what I consider myself as a Stylish Female geek is everywhere.

Though this idea of fashion and geekdom has been long time coming, in part thanks to companies recognizing women and their love of Sci-fi in what was once considered male held.

Companies like Australian based Black Milk Clothing, make everything from dresses to leggings with some of the most iconic titles in geekdom. No longer are women wearing outfits made for male counterparts, but are wearing chic high fashion pieces.

This article is a multiple part series, exploring the new high fashion world of geeky women’s fashion. It also should beg the question why were there less dresses and more t-shirts in the past, join me as we explore a galaxy that isn’t so far far away anymore.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

